Best Banana Bread Muffins

Whenever we have bananas that have sat in the kitchen a bit too long, I break out this banana bread recipe. Adapted from multiple different recipes I have come across, I added some of my favorite ingredients to make this the best banana bread I have ever tasted. My nut allergy prevents me from enjoying most banana bread recipes in restaurants, as they usually contain nuts, so I make my own that includes everything I do like and nothing that I don’t. One of these ingredients are oats. Including them in the batter gives the bread a more rustic feel that I enjoy in homemade breads. This way, the bread has a nice texture that you would associate with something hearty and homemade.

Yield: About 24 muffins

Prep time: 30 minutes

Cook time: 25 minutes at 350 degrees

Ingredients:

3 ripe bananas

¾ cup melted butter

1 tsp vanilla

1 egg

1/3 cup white sugar

1/3 cup brown sugar

1 and ½ cups flour

1/3 cup oats

1 tsp baking soda

Dash of salt

Chocolate chips optional

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Mash bananas and melt the butter. Combine with both sugars, egg, and vanilla. Sprinkle the baking soda over the top of the wet mixture.IMG_4953
  3. Add in the flour and oats and stir until just combined.IMG_4954
  4. Top with chocolate chips or cinnamon sugar and bake for 25 minutes, making sure to only fill up the muffin tin half with batter.IMG_4959
  5. Let cool and enjoy right away or store in the fridge for later.

You can also customize the bread by adding any toppings that suite your tastes, (I added chocolate chips and cinnamon sugar to mine!) though they’re delicious without anything else too. These banana bread muffins are the perfect grab and go breakfast in the morning or as a snack later in the day. Bon appétit!

Leave a Reply

